Card diagram with three rows (Kindle eBook, Paperback, Hardcover), each showing two creation slots and two first-time submission slots per week, plus a Resets Sunday 00:00 UTC banner

KDP’s 2-Books-Per-Week Limit, Explained for Puzzle Book Publishers

Last checked: 6 October 2026. Amazon Kindle Direct Publishing (KDP) tightened how many new titles you can create each week. If you publish crossword books, word searches, sudoku, mazes, number puzzles, or mixed activity books, you have probably seen forum posts about KDP’s new upload limit, often called the two-books-per-week rule. This guide sticks to what KDP’s own Help pages and community notice say, flags what they have not said, and notes why puzzle books are generally not treated as low-content under KDP’s separate policy page.

What changed, and when

Starting Monday, 21 September 2026, KDP applies a stricter weekly limit on new title creation, not on updating books that already exist. Amazon announced the change in a KDP Community article dated for that rollout. The notice says the limit exists to help maintain a positive publishing experience for authors and readers; this article does not speculate beyond that wording.

KDP has adjusted creation limits before. A 2023 community notice said Amazon was lowering existing limits but did not publish the previous numeric allowance.

What KDP puts in Help (two separate counters)

Create a Book lists New title creation and submission limits as two separate weekly counters (checked 6 October 2026):

  • Creation limit: Up to 2 titles per book format each week.
  • Submission limit: Up to 2 new titles per book format each week, counted the first time you submit a title for publication. This includes titles previously saved as drafts. Updates to titles you have already submitted do not count against the weekly submission limit.

KDP states these limits are separate from each other, apply separately to each book format (eBook, paperback, and hardcover), and reset every Sunday at 12:00 AM UTC. The September community notice emphasizes creating new titles and that existing or published titles are not affected; pair that notice with the Help page when you plan drafts versus live submissions.

The Paperback Submission Guidelines now carry the same New title creation and submission limits section and point to Create a Book for full details; both pages agree on two weekly counters per format and the Sunday UTC reset (checked 6 October 2026).

What “per format” means in practice

The limits are not “two books total.” Each counter runs per format. Across Kindle, paperback, and hardcover, that is up to six new titles created and six first-time submissions in one week if you use every slot in each format.

FormatCreation limit (Help)Submission limit (Help)
Kindle eBookUp to 2 new titles / weekUp to 2 first-time submissions / week
PaperbackUp to 2 new titles / weekUp to 2 first-time submissions / week
HardcoverUp to 2 new titles / weekUp to 2 first-time submissions / week

Saving three paperback drafts across two earlier weeks, then attempting to submit all three in one week, hits the two first-time submission cap: two go through and the third is blocked until the next Sunday reset. Plan both counters on your calendar.

Paperback plus eBook for the same book: KDP treats formats separately. A Kindle edition and a paperback edition of one manuscript are normally two titles in two formats. Both consume slots in their respective weekly buckets. Plan format launches with that in mind.

When the counter resets

Create a Book and the September community notice both state that the weekly limit resets every Sunday 00:00 UTC.

UTC is fixed; your local clock is not. Use these conversions when you mark a publishing calendar:

Period (by weekly reset date)Sunday 00:00 UTC is…
Through the 25 October 2026 reset (EU still on summer time at that instant)Saturday 8:00 pm EDT · Sunday 2:00 am CEST
1 November 2026 reset only (EU on CET; US still on daylight time)Saturday 8:00 pm EDT · Sunday 1:00 am CET
From the 8 November 2026 reset through the 14 March 2027 reset (US and EU on standard time)Saturday 7:00 pm EST · Sunday 1:00 am CET
21 and 28 March 2027 resets (US on daylight time; EU still on standard time)Saturday 8:00 pm EDT · Sunday 1:00 am CET
From the 4 April 2027 reset through the 31 October 2027 resetSaturday 8:00 pm EDT · Sunday 2:00 am CEST

If you publish from the US East Coast or Europe, set a recurring reminder before your local weekend ends so you do not burn a slot by accident at what feels like “still Saturday evening.”

Three-column reference chart for KDP weekly limits: what counts toward creation and submission, what KDP says does not count, and planning topics KDP has not stated

What does not count (per KDP)

The community notice is explicit on one point: the limit applies only to creating new titles. Existing or published titles are not affected.

Help adds a submission nuance: updates to titles you have already submitted do not count against the weekly submission limit (Create a Book). That covers much backlist work — price changes, description tweaks, typo fixes inside an interior you upload to the same title, and similar maintenance on a record that is already submitted or live.

Significant changes are different. Titles & Editions treats significant cover changes, large manuscript updates (page count shifts above KDP’s threshold), trim or ink/paper changes, and similar updates as a new edition, created as a new title — which uses the weekly creation and submission counters for that format. A full rebrand cover is not the same as fixing a misaligned spine line on the existing file.

That split matters for puzzle publishers with long series. Correcting a wrong answer in volume 3’s uploaded PDF on the existing listing is maintenance; launching a large-print or second edition with a new ISBN for print is a new title in KDP’s edition rules.

What KDP has not said — and how to play it safe

Seller forums fill the gaps with rules of thumb. Separate confirmed policy from prudent planning:

TopicStated by KDP?Practical note
Draft saved, not yet submittedPartially: submission limit counts the first submit, including drafts saved earlierYou can hit the submission cap in one week even if you created those titles earlier. Finish files before the first submit.
Creation vs submissionYes — two separate weekly counters per formatTrack both on your calendar; do not assume unused creation slots carry over as submission slots.
New edition (trim, ink, paper, significant cover)Yes — new edition is a new title (Titles & Editions)Large-print or trim-size splits usually mean a new title, not a silent swap.
Large print as its own listingNot stated as exempt from limitsPlan it like any other new title in that format.
Deleting a draft to “free” a slotNot statedDo not assume delete-and-recreate resets either counter.

Treat the practical-note column as planning guidance, not Amazon policy. When in doubt, ask KDP Support and keep the ticket number for your records.

Do puzzle books count as low-content?

Low-content anxiety ran ahead of the September 2026 notice. The title creation limit notice lists formats only. It does not give low-content notebooks a different weekly allowance or a separate cap.

KDP’s Low-Content Books page is the right place for content rules, not upload cadence. That page lists activity books — including puzzle types — under “Not Generally Low-Content,” with the explanation that they generally do not feature repetitive content on every page, though exceptions can exist. A serious crossword, sudoku, or word-search collection with varied grids and an answer section is not the same category as a blank lined journal in KDP’s framing.

Two ideas often get conflated:

  1. Low-content quality rules (what Amazon may block or restrict regardless of how fast you upload).
  2. Weekly creation and submission limits (how many new titles you may create and submit per format per week).

Puzzle books still need to meet KDP’s content bar, and they still consume creation and submission slots like any other title. They do not, based on the September notice, get a special “puzzle exemption” from the weekly cap — nor does the low-content page describe a different numeric limit.

Exceptions: wording removed

KDP Help used to say you could contact KDP to ask about an exception; the current Help and the September notice do not. Plan as if two creations and two first-time submissions per format per week is the rule for your account unless Amazon publishes something new.

Planning around the limit

KDP’s weekly title limits reward fewer, finished books over rapid near-duplicates. Useful habits include spacing format launches (paperback first, Kindle or hardcover later), building series volumes instead of a string of near-identical one-offs, and spending saved time on niches with clear demand — themes, difficulty ramps, and answer sections shoppers can see in Amazon’s preview.

If you assemble books in-house, Instant Puzzle Books ships with every paid Puzzle Maker Pro edition for fast whole-book PDF output, and Puzzle Book Studio (from Creative upward) helps when you need richer layout control across sections — so each weekly slot can carry a proofed interior and cover, not a rushed placeholder. You upload interior and cover files to KDP; there is no separate “Look Inside upload,” only the files Amazon derives the preview from.

Frequently asked questions

Does editing an existing puzzle book count toward the limit?

KDP says the weekly cap applies to creating new titles and that existing or published titles are not affected (community notice). Help says updates to titles you have already submitted do not count toward the submission limit (Create a Book). Minor typo fixes on a live interior usually stay on the same title; significant cover changes, trim or ink/paper changes, or large page-count shifts are new editions that KDP says must be created as a new title (Titles & Editions), which uses both weekly counters.

Does a paperback and an eBook of the same book count twice?

Yes, toward two different format buckets. Each format allows up to two new titles per week. A Kindle version and a paperback version are normally two creations in two formats.

When does the KDP weekly limit reset?

Sunday at 12:00 am UTC, per Create a Book and the community notice. See the table above for Eastern and Central European local times, including the boundary weekends around the 25 October, 1 November, and 8 November 2026 resets.

Can I get an exception to publish more than two new titles per format?

The current notice and Help text do not describe an exception request process. Do not plan on a waiver unless Amazon updates its public guidance.

Do low-content books have a different weekly limit?

The September 2026 notice does not set a separate limit for low-content titles. Low-content eligibility is covered on the Low-Content Books page; creation and submission cadence is covered by the New title creation and submission limits section on Create a Book. Puzzle-heavy activity books are generally not low-content in KDP’s examples, but they still count toward the same weekly creation and submission caps.

Other puzzles you might like

Get the free Puzzle Maker Pro demo now

Shopping Cart